Thai Kitchen, Hoi An 

I was recommended to visit the Thai Kitchen while in Hoi An. The Thai Kitchen is located a bit outside the Old Town of Hoi An in a very calm area and you’ll find it on a small dark street, so no where you would pass by accident unless you have a reason to go there. And trust me, you now have a reason to go there. 

The Thai Kitchen opened up their doors in December and is run by this lovely Thai-Spanish couple. The wife is the chief and responsible for the food and the man is out in the restaurant. It feels like you’re visiting someones home. Probably because you do as they live upstairs and have the restaurant on the ground floor. But it’s more than just the house, it’s the welcoming feeling you get when they greet you.  

First night I went there by myself and had the Shrimp Cakes and a Chicken Green Curry. Shrimp Sakes were lovely and moist and the Chicken Green Curry was heavenly, the perfect balance between spicy, sweet, salt and acidity. 

I learnd, to make a proper Chicken Green Curry you have to use three types of aubergines. The normal ripe fruit and the two above which are in different stages of ripeness. The green “pea” is the first stage that then develope into the small fruit on the left that will become a full grown aubergine. All three have to be used otherwise it’s not a real Green Curry. Jag fick lära mig, för att göra en riktig Kyckling Grön Curry så måste du använda tre olika auberginer. The vanliga mogna frukten och de två ovan som är i olika stadier av mognadsgrad. Den gröna “ärtan” är det första stadiet som sedan kommer utvecklas till den lilla frukten till vänster som sedan blir fullvuxen aubergine. Alla tre måste användas för att det ska vara en riktig grön curry.

The second time I went there I dragged my new friends Nicole and Lina with me. We also started with the Shrimp Cakes. I really wanted the Chicken Green Curry again but thought I had to try something else so I went for their recommendation of a Beef Curry and it too was absolutely delicious.

I really wish them the best of luck and hope they will become a success and that people spread the word about this little hidden restaurant. And if you are in Hoi An, please make sure you put this one on your list. You might want to start with it because if your like me I’m a bit sad I went there too late and only had time to dine there twice.

—–

Jag blev rekommenderad att besöka Thailand Kitchen när jag var i Hoi An. Du hittat Thailand Kitchen lite utanför Gamla Stan i Hoi An i ett väldigt lugnt område, på en liten mörk gata, så inget du av en händelse skulle råka gå förbi om du inte har en anledning att gå dit.  Och tro mig, du har ny en anledning att gå dit.

Thai Kitchen öppnade upp sina dörrar i december och drivs av ett ljuvligt Thai-Spanskt par. Frun är kock och ansvarig för maten och mannen tar hand om restaurangen. Det känns som att du kommer hem till någon. Antagligen för att du faktiskt gör det då de bor ovanför restaurangen och driver restaurangen på bottenvåningen. Men det är mer än bara huset, det är känslan hur du välkomnas.

Första kvällen gick jag dit själv och åt då Räkmackor och Kyckling Grön Curry. Räkkakorna var supergoda och Saftiga och Kyckling Grön Curryn var himmelsk, den perfekta balansen mellan styrka, sötma, sälta och syra.

Andra gången jag gillar kan dit släpade jag med mig mina nya vänner Nicole och Lina. Vi åt även denna gång Räkkakorna. Jag ville verkligen ha Kyckling Grön Curry igen men tänkte att jag borde testa något annat så jag gick på deras rekommendation och beställde Biffcurryn och även den var så så god.

Jag önskar dom verkligen all lycka och hoppas att de blir framgångsrika och att människor sprider information om denna lilla restaurang. Och om du är i Hoi An se till att du skriver upp Denna på din lista. Du vill kanske till och med börja med den för är du som jag så är jag lite ledsen att jag gillar kan dit så sent och bara hade tid att äta där två gånger. 


Leave a Reply

