Celestial Court Chinese Restaurant 

I’m back in Hong Kong, where I started of three months ago.

Before going back to Stockholm I wanted some proper Chinese dim sum. I googled and found a couple of recommendations in Time Magazin. Out of convenience I chose the Celestial Court Chinese restaurant at Sheraton Hotel. 

I ordered a selection of Dim Sum, barbecue Pork Belly Buns and the Birds Nest Soup.

Dim sum.

Barbecue Pork Belly Buns.

Bird’s Nest Soup. Fågelbosoppa.

Pork Buns were too sweet for me to be savory. The Dim Sum were lovely except one were wrapped in sea weed. 

As for the Bird Nest Soup I’ve heard about it and thought I’d try it. However I was not sure exactly what it was. The taste was not bad but it was not good either. It tasted like deluded stock soup with big gelly pieces. When I saw it and tried the gelly pieces I thought it might be some type of intestine or a belly. So I googled and here’s what I got:

Bird’s Nest Soup is regarded as a delicacy in many Asian cultures as well as having medical benefits and it’s also believed to strengthen the libido. The name makes you think of twigs, leaves and moss but think again. The bird’s nest is actually made of bird saliva which has dried and then gone hard. I assume the big gelly pieces I ate was the bird saliva. All the sudden I felt a bit nauseous, actually still do. I tried to eat a bit more but I could not.

All in all, Bird’s Nest Soup aside, not my best meal. 

—–

Jag är tillbaka i Hong Kong, där jag påbörjade min resa för tre månader sen.

Innan jag åker tillbaka till Stockholm så ville jag äta ordentliga kinesisk Dim Sum. Jag googlade och hittade ett par rekommendationer i Time Magazin. Av bekvämlighet så valde jag Celestial Court Chinese restaurant vid Sheraton Hotel. 

Jag beställde Buns med fläsksida, ett urval av Dim Sum och en Fågelbosoppa.

Buns med fläsksida var för söta för att vara salta. Dim Sum:en var ljuvliga förutom att en vatten invikt i sjögräs. 

När det kommer till Fågelbosoppa än så har jag tidigare hört talas om den och tänkte att jag skulle pröva den. Dock kom jag inte riktigt ihåg vad det var.  Smaken var inte dålig men den var inte heller god. Den smakade som urvattnad buljong med stora gelebitar. När jag såg soppan och prövade gelebitarna så trodde jag att det var inälvor eller mage. Jag googlade därför och detta är vad jag hittade:

Fågelbosoppa anses vara en delikatess i många asiatiska länder såväl som att den anses ha medicinska fördelar och tros även förstärka libidon. Namnet får dig att tänka på kvistar, löv och mossa men tänk om. Fågelbosoppa är faktiskt gjorde av fågelsaliv som torkat och hårdnat. Jag antar att de stora gelebitarna som jag åt var fågrlsalivet. Och plötsligt kände jag mig lite illamående, jag känner mig fortfarande illamående. Jag försökte äta lite mer men det gick inte. 

Allt som allt, Fågelbosoppan till trots, så var detta inte mim bästa måltid. 

Leave a Reply

