All good things…

“All good things must come to an end.” 

I hate that expression. I understand that sooner or later you will have to face reality again but the sound of the saying is so negative. Like you are only allowed to experience X happiness and then it has to be followed by the opposite of happiness. 

Well, I for one feel very blessed to have made this journey and I’m also happy that it has come to an end but what I’ll get in return is not the opposite of happiness. I’m coming home to Stockholm, a city I love, I get to see my friends and family again, I get to live in my appartment again and I don’t have to live out of a suitcase and hand wash my cloaths anymore. And I get back in time for summer. What’s not to like. 

I would say: “Good things may come to an end and if they do they can be replaced by other good things. It’s all up to you how you choose to see it.”

On my way to Hong Kong airport. This is how happy I am to flying back home now. På väg till Hong Kong flygplats nu. Så här lycklig är jag att flyga hem nu.

Boarding in 15 minutes. 

—–

“Allt gott har ett slut.”

Jag hatar det talesättet. Jag förstår att man förr eller senare måste återvända till verkligheten men det låter så negativt. Som att vi bara är tillåtna X mycket lycka och detta ska följas av motsatsen till lycka.

Nå, jag känner mig väldigt lyckligt lottad som har haft möjligheten att göra denna resa och jag är också glad att den är över men vad jag får istället är inte motsatsen till lycka. Jag får återvända till Stockholm, en stad jag älskar, jag får se vänner och familj igen, jag får bo i min lägenhet igen och behöver inte bo i en kappsäck och handtvätta mina kläder. Och jag återvänder lagom till sommaren. Vad är fel på det?

Jag skulle istället vilja säga: “Goda ting kan nå ett slut och om de gör det så ersätts de med andra goda ting. Det är upp till dig att välja hur du ser på det.”

Leave a Reply

