Angkor Temples

The main reason I wanted to go to Siem Reap and Cambodia was to see Angkor Wat. Or so I thought. It actually turned out I thought Angkor Wat was a combination of two temples, Angkor Wat and Ta Prohm.

On Thursday I had a 4.10 am wake up call and was picked up by my Tuk Tuk 20 minutes later to get to Angkor Wat for the sun rise. When we got there it was unfortunately cloudy so no real reason to get to Angkor Wat for the sun rise. Also, the sun now rises to the left of the temple so not straight behind which of course is the picture you want if you get up at 4.10 am in the morning. 

Since there was not going to be a sunrise worth seeing I among a few others entered the temple and wandered around before the crowds came. I was feeling absolutely amazed with everything from the building itself to the details, decoration and the fact that it actually is man made.

I thereafter continued to Angkor Thom followed by Thommanon, Chausey Tevoda, Takeo, Ta Prohm (known from Thomb Raider) and Banteai Kdei. 

The temples were absolutely amazing and I just have to come back. In one way it was good to do it this way to have a first look and then let it sink in but I kind of regret that I did not pay for a guide because it would have been so interesting to also get to know the history behind the different temples. Now I have these amazing pictures in my head but no background. But it’s of course a reason to come back. And I really want to come back to Cambodia anyway and travel around the country.

Största anledningen till att jag ville åka till Siem Reap och Kambodja var för att se Angkor Wat. Eller det var i varje fall vad jag trodde. Det visade sig att jag trodde att Angkor Wat vad en kombination av två olika tempel, Angkor Wat och Takako-san Prohm. 

På torsdag morgon hade jag väckarklockan att ringa 4.10 och 20 minuters senare blev jag upphämtad av min Tuk Tuk för att hinna se soluppgången vid Angkor Wat. När vi kom fram var det dessvärre mulet och ingen anledning egentligen att åka för att se soluppgången. Utöver detta så stiger solen upp till vänster om templet och inte rakt bakom vilket självklart är den bild du vill ha om du kliver upp 4.10 på morgonen. 

Eftersom det inte blev någon soluppgång värd att se så traskade jag in i templet med några andra människor och strosade runt innan massorna kom. Jag blev så tagen av allt från själva byggnaden till alla detaljer, dekoration och det faktum att det är byggt för hand.

Efter detta så fortsatte jag till Angkor Thom följt av Thommanon, Chausey Tevoda, Takeo, Ta Prohm (känd från Thomb Raider) och Banteai Kdei

Templen var helt fantastiska och jag vill komma tillbaka. På ett sätt var det bra att göra det på detta sätt och få ett första besök och låta allt sjunka in men jag ångrar lite att jag inte betalade för en guide för det hade varit väldigt intressant att också få historien bakom de olika templen. Nu har jag alla dessa fantastiska bilder i mitt huvud men ingen bakgrund. Men det är så klart en anledning att komma tillbaka. Och jag vill ändå komma tillbaka gör att resa runt i Kambodja.

Leave a Reply

