First night in Hanoi

As I didn’t have that much cash, I had to watch my spendings so for first meal out in Hanoi I went to a local “restaurant”. Not sure you can actually call it a restaurant but it was a hole in the wall with some tables and chairs and only locals. No one spoke English and when I asked what the choices were they just said something in Vietnamese.  I saw a sign and there were three different prices so I went for ‘Chin’ as it was the cheapest, 40.000 Dong  (about 15 SEK). 

The kitchen. Köket.

I got served this bowl of hot stock and nudles with beef  (I think) and coriander. It was delicious. 

The locals however did not seem to like me or like me being there. I was seated at a table but immediately when I sat down this woman said something, got up and moved to another table. As the place was rather full someone soon sat next to me again but immediately when a seat freed up they moved again. No one tried to talk to me and everyone seemed to avoid looking at me. When I tried to say something they put their heads down low in the bowl and pretended they did not hear me.

A very different feeling to the Chinese, who seem to be fascinated by me, the Japanese who are very friendly, helpful and showed a genuine interest in me and my culture without being invasive and the Taiwanese also being very friendly and helpful. Now, I’ve only been here two days but I get a totally different feeling here. 

—–

Eftersom jag inte hade så mycket kontanter, så var jag tvungen att vara försiktig hur jag spenderade mina pengar så den första måltiden i Hanoi fick bli en lokal restaurang. Inte säker på att jag kan kalla det en restaurang men det var ett hål i väggen med några bord och stolar och enbart lokalbefolkning. Ingen pratade engelska och när jag frågade vad det fanns för val så sa de något på vietnamesiska. Jag såg en skylt med tre olika priser så jag valde ‘Chin’ eftersom det var det billigaste, 40.000 Dong (ca 15 SEK).

Jag blev serverad en skål het buljong och nudlar med biff (tror jag) och koriander. Det var supergott. 

Lokalbefolkningen däremot verkade inte gilla mig eller gilla att jag var där.  Jag blev placerad vid ett bord och direkt jag satte mig så sa en kvinna något, klev upp och flyttade bord. Eftersom stället var ganska fullt så var det snart någon annan som satte sig bredvid mig men direkt en annan plats blev ledig så flyttade de på sig. Ingen försökte prata med mig och alla verkade undvika att se på mig. När jag försökte säga något så sänkte de sina huvuden ner i skålen och låtsades att de inte hörde mig. 

En väldigt annorlunda känsla jämfört med kineserna som verkar vara fascinerade av mig, japanerna som är väldigt vänliga , hjälpsamma och visade ett genuint intresse av mig och min kultur utan att vara påträngande och taiwaneserna som också var väldigt vänliga och hjälpsamma. Nu har jag bara varit här i två dagar men jag får en helt annan känsla här. 

Leave a Reply

