Takeda General Hospital Kyoto

Now also have the experience of going to the hospital in Japan.

Arriving at the hospital I seriously questioned if I would find anyone who spoke English. When I entered I could not see a single thing written in English, all Japanese and it’s nothing you can figure out from that.  I must have looked like a lost little girl not knowing in which direction to go. 

I saw a doctor and asked if he spoke English. He shook his head and put up his index finger indicating for me to wait a minute (universal language). He rushed off and came back a few minutes later with an iPad. He’d called a lady who could translate. Very smart. After some Skyping with the lady and then a doctor another gentlemen joined us and he helped me through all the processes; registration, showing me where to wait and later the pharmacy to pick up my antibiotics. He was very kind and helpful. 

So, all in all a good experience of the health care in Japan. Only small hick up was that the representative in Japan for my insurance company in Sweden had made a small mix up. My insurance company had instructed me that they had sent over a Confirmation of Payment letter to the hospital, but the hospital could not find it. They asked me to call the insurance company but as my phone doesn’t work I was unable to and it was not possible to make international phone calls from the hospital.  They finally found a Confirmation of Payment letter from my insurance company and all information was correct apart from the Insureds Name which was Jan Andersson. 

It all worked out in the end and I was very well taken care of by the Japanese gentleman. And I’m now the proud owner of a Japanese Patient Card.

—–

Nu har jag även erfarenhet av att besöka sjukhuset i Japan.

När jag anlände sjukhuset så ifrågasatte jag skarpt om jag skulle kunna få service på engelska. När jag gick in kunde jag inte se något överhuvudtaget skrivet på engelska, allt var japanska och det är inget du kan ens försöka klura ut. Jag måste ha sett ut som en vilsen liten skolflicka där jag stod som inte visste i vilken riktning hon skulle gå.

Jag såg en läkare och frågade om han pratade engelska. Han skakade på huvudet och sträckte upp sitt pekfinger i luften för att indikera att jag skulle vänta en minut ( universellt språk). Han skynda sig iväg och kom tillbaka några minuter senare med en iPad. Han hade ring en kvinna som kunde översätta. Väldigt smart. Efter att ha Skype:at med kvinnan och senare en läkare så anslöt en herre som hjälpte mig genom hela processen; registering, visade var jag skulle vänta och senare apoteket för att hämta min antibiotika. Han var väldigt snäll och hjälpsam.

Så, allt som allt så var min erfarenhet av den Japanska sjukvården bra. Enda lilla fnurran på tråden var att representanten i Japan för mitt försäkringsbolag i Sverige blandade ihop saker lite. Mitt försäkringsbolag hade informerat mig att de hade skickat över en betalningsbekräftelse till sjukhuset, men sjukhuset kunde inte hitta den. De ville att jag skulle ringa försäkringsbolaget men eftersom min telefon inte fungerar så kunde jag inte göra det och det var ej möjligt att göra internationella samtal från sjukhuset. Slutligen hittade de betalningsbekräftelsen från mitt försäkringsbolag och all unformatted var korrekt med undantag av försäkrad person, som var Jan Andersson.

Allt löste sig till slut och jag blev väldigt väl omhändertagen av den japanska gentlemannen. Och jag är nu en stolt ägare av ett japanskt patientkort.

Leave a Reply

