Ippodo Teahouse Kyoto 

Tea and Japan goes hand-in-hand like the US and McDonald’s. Though the latter there is no need to visit. 

​I was recommended by Mami-san to visit Ippodo Teahouse on Teramachi Street in Kyoto. It really is a tradition I wanted to get a better understanding for. As I don’t really drink coffee I’ve always been a huge tea drinker but to be honest, Macha and Green Tea have never been my cup of tea:-) 

When you choose to do the tea ceremony you have a choice of teas and they come either with a soft or hard Japanese sweet. The staff will show you how to make the tea and then you’re on your own to enjoy. 

I had a lovely green tea and the soft sweet which was made of a type of sugar paste filled with sweetened beans. A bit strange to eat sweet beans but not too bad at all. Jag drack en ljuvlig kopp grönt te och en mjuk sötsak som var gjord av en sorts sockerpasta fylles med sötade bönor. Lite konstigt att äta söta bönor men inte alls så illa.

Instructions. Instruktioner. 

When preparing my first pot of tea I first put the tea in the tea pot, poured over hot water and took one deep breath and then immediately poured everything into my cup not leaving a single drop. I put down the tea pot, lifted the lid off to let the steam disappear. I could repeat this procedure at least three times but without taking the deep breath going forward.

—–

Te och Japan går hand-i-hand som USA och McDonald’s. Dock finns det ingen anledning att besöka den senare.

Jag blev rekommenderad att Maki-san att besöka Ippodo Teahouse på Teramachi Street i Kyoto.  Det är en tradition som jag gärna ville få en bättre förståelse för. Eftersom jag egentligen inte dricker kaffe så är jag en stor tedrickare men om jag ska vara ärlig så har Macha och grönt te aldrig varit min “kopp te”. 

När du väljer att göra teceremonin så har du en meny av olika teer att välja bland och de serveras med antingen en mjuk eller hård sötsak. Personalen visar dig sen hur du ska göra ditt te och sen är du ensam att njuta.

När jag förberedde den första tekannan så la jag först allt te i den, hällde på varmt vatten, tog ett djupt andetag och hällde direkt teet i min kopp utan att lämna kvar en enda droppe te i kannan. Jag la sedan ner tekannan och lyfte på locket för att släppa ut ånga. Denna procedur kunde jag upprepa minst tre gånger men utan att ta ett djupt andetag framöver.

Leave a Reply

