Sashimi breakfast 

After a visit to the Fish Market in Tokyo, you just have to start the morning with a Sushi and/or Sashimi breakfast with Sake.

Me and Andrew walked around the streets for and while, hoping to find a place where the locals would go for breakfast but could not find one. We ended up going to a small hut where a guy had tried to get us in each time we passed.

Immediately when seated they bring you tea. I had hoped for hot tea as I was a bit cold from getting up at 1.50 am and sitting on a floor for three hours followed by the tuna auction in a cold warehouse. Instead we got cold tea so to warm up a bit we ordered warm Sake. When in Japan… For breakfast we ordered a mix of Sashimi; Tuna, Fatty Tuna, my new favourite Sea Urchins, Salmon and Yellow Tail. 

The Sashimi was fantastic and I mean really fantastic. The only fish I did not like, to my great surprise and disappointment I might add, was actually the ‘normal’ tuna. I found the texture too soft and grainy. 

I have only seen ‘normal’ tuna before but here they serve; Tuna, Fatty Tuna and Grand Fatty Tuna. Jag har bara sett ‘normal’ tonfisk förut men här serverar de; Tonfisk, Fet Tonfisk och Extra Fet Tonfisk.

We of course also had to try the Grand Fatty Tuna so we ordered some more Sashimi including more Yellow Tail as it was absolutely magical and was one of both mine and Andrews favourites. We also ordered more of the Salmon and had to try Herring Roe (not a favourite).

I preferred the ‘Fatty Tuna’ while Andrew preferred the “Grand Fatty Tuna’. Both were super delicious and here it was even more obvious that it almost reminds you of a piece of meat marmorized with different degrees of fat. I would so much like to get my hands on some pieces of both kinds. With that much fat it just has to be absolutely lovely. Season with salt only, throw it quickly on the grill to get the carmalized surface and enjoy. My mouth is watering when I think about it.  

After the breakfast we walked around the streets again. Here are some pictures.

Scallops, monster Oysters almost as big as my hand and King Crab. Pilgrimsmusslor, monster Ostron nästan lika stora som min hand och Kungskrabba. 

Wasabi and Bamboo Shots. Wasabi och Bambuskott.

This is one of my favourite experiences so far. So worth a visit.  Next time in Tokyo I will not include hotel breakfast but go here instead. And the positive thing is that you can come here whenever you want to, you do not need to get up in the middle of the night. 

—–

Efter ett besök på Fiskmarknaden i Tokyo så bara måste du börja dagen med Sushi och/eller Sashimi frukost med Sake.
Jag och Andrew gick runt på gatorna ett tag i hopp om att hitta ett ställe där lokalbefolkningen åt frukost men kunde inte hitta ett. Det slutade med att vi gick till ett litet ställe där en kille försökt få oss in varje gång vi passerat.

Direkt vi satte oss blev vi serverade te. Jag hade hoppat att det skulle vara varmt då jag var lite frusen från att ha klivit upp kl 1.50 på morgonen, suttit på ett golv i tre timmar och sedan gått på tonfiskauktionen i ett kallt lagerhaus. Istället fick vi kallt te så för att värma oss lite beställde vi in varm Sake. När du är i Japan… Till frukost beställde vi en mix av Sashimi; Tonfisk, Fet Tonfisk, min nya  favorit Sjöborre, Lax och Yellow Tail.

Sashimin var fantastisk och då menar jag verkligen fantastisk. Den enda fisken jag inte gillade, till min stora förvåning och besvikelse måste jag tillägga, var faktiskt den ‘vanliga’ tonfisken. Jag tyckte att texturen var för mjuk och grynig.

Självklart var vi tvungna att också testa ‘Extra Fet Tonfisk’ så vi beställde in mer Sashimi inklusive mer Yellow Tail som var helt magiskt god och blev en av både min och Andrews favoriter. Vi beställde även mer lax och testade Strömmingsrom  (inte en favorit).

Jag föredrog den ‘Feta Tonfisken’ medan Andrew föredrog den ‘Extra Feta Tonfisken’. Båda var verkligen supersmarriga och här blev det än mer tydligt att den nästan påminner om en köttbit som är marmorerade av olika grader av fett. Jag skulle väldigt gärna vilja lägga beslag på några bitar av båda feta sorterna. Med så mycket fett insprängt måste det bara bli ljuvligt gott. Krydda enbart med salt, släng bitarna snabbt på grillen för att få fram den karamelliserade ytan och njut. Det vattnas i munnen på mig bara jag tänker på det. 

Detta är en av de bästa upplevelse på min resa så här långt. Så värt ett besök. Nästa gång i Tokyo så kommer jag inte inkludera hotellfrukost utan äta här istället. Det positiva är också att hit kan du komma när som helst, du behöver inte kliva upp mitt i natten.

Leave a Reply

