Fish market 

1.50 wake-up call to attend the Tuna auction at the Fish Market (Tsukiji) in Tokyo. The ticket office opened at 3 am and they have 140 spots available divided into two groups, but I was told to be there at the latest 2.30 am to ensure a place. The auktion started at 5.30 am.

Me and my new friend Andrew from the UK. When having to wait for three hours, sitting on a floor at the Fish Market it sure is nice to have company. Jag och min nya kompis Andrew från England. När man måste vänta i tre timmar, sittandes på golvet på fiskmarknaden så är det verkligen trevligt att ha sällskap.

Just before the auktion a Japanese man working with the auction came to tell us a bit about the Fish Market and the tuna market and auction. He turned out to be a real entertainer. 

Someone asked him when he got up in the morning and when he went to bed. He answered:

– I get up at 3.15 am and start working at 4 am and go to bed around 10 pm. I finish work at 4 pm then I go grocery shopping and even night I make food for my family because my wife is lazy.

A bit later he told us that his 20th wedding anniversary is coming up and that his wife had told him that she wanted to go somewhere she had never been before. He then said:

– I suggested the kitchen but she was not very happy about that. 

The tuna auction was interesting to see but still a bit of a disappointment, I had expected more action. It seemed they only show the first bit to the tourists before the real auction kicks off. Still happy I did it but the best part was eating sashimi for breakfast afterwards and for that you do not need to get up at 1.50.

They determine the quality of the tuna by chopping off the tail. They study the tail, colour and texture of the flesh and fat content. De avgör tonfisken kvalitet genom att skära av stjärten. De studerar stjärten, färg och textur av köttet och fetheten.

Väckning kl 1.50 för att gå på tonfiskauktion på fiskmarknaden i Tokyo. Biljettkontoret öppnade kl 3 och de har 140 lediga platser i två olika grupper, men jag hade blivit rekommenderad att vara där senast kl 2.30. Auktionen startar kl 5.30.

Strax innan auktionen så kom en japansk man som arbetade med auktionen  för att berätta lite mer om fiskmarknaden och tonfiskmarknaden samt auktionen. Han visade sig vara en riktig underhållare. 

Någon frågade honom när han klev upp på morgonen och när han gick och la sig. Han svarade:

– Jag kliver upp kl 3.15 och börjar jobba kl 4 och jag går och lägger mig runt kl 22. Jag slutar jobba kl 16 och då går jag och handlar mat och varje kväll gör jag mat till familjen för att minska  fru är lat.

Lite senare berättade han att hans 20 åriga bröllopsdag närmade sig och att hans fru hade saft att hon vill åka någonstans hon aldrig tidigare varit. Han sa då:

– Jag föreslog då köket men hon blev inte speciellt glad över det. 

Tonfiskauktionen var intressant att se men jag är fortfarande lite besviken. Jag hade väntat mig mer action. Det verkar som att de bara visar den första delen av auktionen till turisterna innan den riktiga börjar. Jag är fortfarande glad att jag besökte den men det bästa var att äta sashimin till frukost och för det behöver du inte kliva upp kl. 1.50.

Leave a Reply

