Dinner at Yukiko-san 

My new friend Yukiko-san invited me to dinner at her place on Monday evening and it was said that we would do the cooking together.  Yukiko-san is a professional chief and does cooking lessons for a living.  She has also recently written a cook book.

Yukiko-san also inviteded two of her friends, Mami and Takako who coincidentally work with wine and Champagne. 

I don’t think it will get any better than this, at least not for me. I was in heaven.

We did not necessarily make traditional Japanese food but it was home-cooked with the best ingredients you can find and of course Japanese inspired. We had a beef stew with home-made dashi, clams with zucchini, sashimi prepared by undersigned, zucchini with sesame paste, chicken and plum stew, cucumber salad, tofu – avokado and seaweed salad, grilled fish with miso, a Japanese fruit, Italian pink Pinot Grigio, Japanese Cider, Sake, home-made plum liquor and more. 

Dashi.

Yukiko-san and Mami-san.

And they put the foreigner to make sashimi for the Japanese. Pressure’s on. Notice the plate for the sashimi. Iittala. Och de la utlänningen på att skiva Sashimi till japanerna. Ingen press. Notera tallriken för sashimin. Iittala.

Oh and we of course had rice and then I mean real rice, properly prepared according to Japanese tradition. Yukiko-san thought me how to clean the rice and then it was cooked in a pot with a very heavy lid and not in a rice cooker as they normally use today. And as an answer to your question. Yessss… there is a huge difference between the rice we eat and this, it was absolutely delicious with just a little bit of salt or dashi.

Everyone who knows me well know there is one thing I don’t eat and that is sea weed. I of course told my new friends this and they took it as a challange to change my mind about sea weed. In other words, we had a sea weed tasting. I really appreciated the effort and there was actually one type of sea weed that was good but I’m still not convinced and I still feel nausea when I taste the ocean and sea weed taste. Next time. Maybe.

Sea weed, sea weed and sea weed. Sjögräs, sjögräs och sjögräs.

What I did like or love was the Japanese pepper called Sansho. The flavour was fruity and fresh, almost like a citrus fruit. The after taste was interesting. The fruit was kind while the powder was strong leaving your tongue and palate to tingle for 5-10 minutes. I can see the Sancho going well together with lamb or even to balance the Fatty or Grand Fatty Tuna.

Sancho pepper. Sancho peppar.

We also did Olive Oil tasting as it turns out Japan actually produces Olive Oil. We tried five different olive oils, both Italian and Japanese. I must say the Japanese was really good. The production quantity is rather small hence making it very expensive. 

It also turned out that Japan produces wine so I will try to make it to a Japanese Wine Bar in Kyoto that was recommended to me.

This has for sure been one of the highlights of my trip. I am so very happy, lucky and thankful to have been part of this lovely dinner with the amazing host Yukiko-san. She went way and above to make this night special and I wonder how I will ever be able to return the favor. I was also happy to meet Mami-san ans Takako-san. I can only agree with Yukiko-san when she explained why they are her friends: “They are genuine people with warm hearths and they like to drink”.

Ladies night. How can you not just love these ladies? What amazing ladies, Yukiko-san, Mami-san and Takako-san. Hur kan man annat än älska dessa kvinnor? Vilka fantastiska kvinnor, Yukiko-san, Mami-san och Takako-san.

I really hope to see you all again, either in Tokyo or you’re  always welcome in Stockholm. Many thanks Yukiko-san for your generosity and for welcoming me to your home and to Mami-san and Takako-san for a great company. What a lovely evening.

—–

Min nya vän Yukiko-san bjöd in mig till middag på måndag kväll hemma hos henne och det var sagt att vi skulle kocka tillsammans. Yukiko-san är en professionell kock och lever på att ge matlagningskurser. Hon har även nyligen skrivit en kokbok.

Yukiko-san hade även bjudit in två av hennes vänner, Mami och Takako som av en händelse jobbar med vin och Champagne.

Jag tror inte att det blir bättre än så här, i varje fall inte för mig. Jag var i himmelriket.

Vi gjorde inte nödvändigtvis traditionell japansk mat men vi gjorde hemlagad mat med de absolut bästa ingredienserna inspirerad av Japan. På menyn fanns en biffgryta med hemlagad dashi, musslor med zucchini, sashimi preppad av den skrivande, zucchini med sesampasta, kyckling och plommongryta, gurksallad, tofu-avokado och sjögrässallad, Grillad fisk med miso, en japansk frukt, ett Italienskt (rosa) Pinot Grigio, en japansk cider, Sake, hemgjord plommonlikör och mer.

Och vi åt självklart ris och då menar jag riktigt ris, tilltredd på korrekt sätt enligt japansk tradition. Yukiko-san lärde mig hur men tvättar riset och sen kokades det i en lergryta med ett väldigt tungt lock och inte i en riskokare som man vanligtvis använder idag. Och som svar på din fråga, jaaaa… det var väldigt stor skillnad på det ris vi vanligtvis äter och detta och det var fantastiskt gott att bara äta med lite salt eller dashi.

Alla som känner mig väl vet att det är en sak jag inte äter och det är sjögräs. Jag berättade naturligtvis detta för mina vänner som då tog det som en utmaning att ändra min åsikt om sjögräs. Med andra ord så blev det sjögräsprovsmakning. Jag uppskattade verkligen ansträngningen och det var faktiskt en sort som var god men jag är fortfarande inte övertygad. Jag får fortfarande kräkkänslor av havs- och sjögrässmaken. Nästa gång. Kanske.   

Det jag däremot gillade, eller älskade var en japansk peppar som heter Sancho. Smaken var fruktig och fräsch, nästan som en citrusfrukt. Eftersmaken var intressant. Frukten i sig var snäll medan pulvret var starkt och det lämnade din tunga och gom med en tinglande känsla som varade i 5-10 minuter. Jag kan se Sancho pepparn passa väl med lamm eller även för att balansera en fet eller extra fet tonfisk.

Vi testade även olika olivoljor eftersom det visar sig att Japan faktikt producerar olivolja. Vi testade fem olika olivoljor, både från Italien och Japan och jag måste säga att den japanska var riktigt god. Produktionskvantiteten var relativt låg vilket gör den väldigt dyr. 

Det visar sig även att Japan producerar vin så jag ska försöka hinna med att besöka en japansk vinbar i Kyoto som jag blev rekommenderad.

Detta har utan tvekan varit en av höjdpunkterna på min resa. Jag är så otroligt glad, lycklig och tacksam att ha haft möjligheten och turen att få vara en del av denna ljuvliga middag den fantastiska värdinnan Yukiko-san. Hon gjorde verkligen en ansträngning för att göra denna kväll speciell och jag undrar hur jag någonsin ska kunna åtgärda detta. Jag är också väldigt glad att jag fick träffa Mami-san och Takako-san. Jag kan bara hålla med Yukiko-san när hon berättade varför de var vänner: “De är genuina människor med ett varmt hjärta och de gillar att dricka”.

Jag hoppas att se er igen, antingen i Tokyo eller så är ni alltid välkomna till Stockholm. Massa tack till Yukiko-san för din generositet och för att du välkomnade mig till ditt hem och till Mami-san och Takako-san för fantastiskt sällskap. Vilken ljuvlig kväll.

Leave a Reply

