Mayuzen Restaurant 

My new friend Yukiko-san booked me a restaurant for Saturday evening, at a place called Mayuzen in Roppongi owned by chief Mayuma who went to culinary school with Yukiko-san.

I got to sit at the bar in front of Mayuma which was the perfect spot as it was easy to interact with Mayuma who spoke perfect English and could explain every dish for me. 

A bit later this lovely couple in their late 50ties sat down next to me. I tried to say ‘hi’ in Japanese, Kon-nichiwa, the gentlemen later asked if I was French as he thought I’d said Bonjour. I think we can all agree to call my Japanese skills a minor disaster.

Anyway, the evening was lovely and I had a very nice time talking to Mayuma and the Japanese couple. I showed them where in Finland I grew up, they thought me some Japanese, turned out they were very familiar with Moomin and Tove Jansson.
Thank you Yukiko-san for the recommendation and for Mayuma-san for the kindness you showed and for a lovely dinner. Oishkata.

A couple of pictures below.

Mayuzen.

Sashimi with Sea Urchin which turned out to be my new favorite. Sashimi med sjöborre vilket visade sig vara en av mina nya favoriter.

The best bamboo shoots apparently come from Kyoto. I got to taste the difference between Kyoto and other bamboo. A big difference, both taste and texture. De bästa bambuskotten kommer från Kyoto. Jag fick smaka skillnaden mellan Kyoto och annan Bambu.  En stor skillnad, både vad gäller smak och textur.

The most tender and juicy lamb. Det mest möra och saftiga lammet.

—–

Min nya vän Yukiko-san bokade en restaurang åt mig till lördag kväll, ett ställe som hette Mayuzen i Roppongi, ägt av Mayuma som gick i kulinarisk skola tillsammans med Yukiko-san.
Jag fick sitta vid baren framför Mayuma vilket var en perfekt plats då det var lätt att interagera med Mayuma som pratade perfekt engelska och kunde förklara varje rätt för mig.

Lite senare kom ett väldigt ljuvligt japanskt par i sena 50-årsåldern och satte sig bredvid mig. Jag försökte säga ‘hej’ på japanska, Kon-nichiwa, Herrn i sällskapet frågade senare om jag var fransk eftersom han trodde att jag hade sagt ‘Bonjour’. Jag tror att vi alla kan enas om att mina japanska kunskaper är mer eller mindre katastrofala.

Hursomhelst så var kvällen  ljuvlig och jag hade det väldigt trevligt med Mayuma och det japanska paret. Jag visade dom var jag växte upp i Finland, de lärde mig lite japanska, det visade sig att de var väldigt bekanta med Mumin och Tove Jansson.

Tack Yukiko-san för rekommendationen och till Mayuma-san för din vänlighet och för en fantastisk middag. Oishkata.

Leave a Reply

