Impressions

First impressions of Tokyo. Bare in mind I’ve only been here a couple of days and visited a few areas.

  • Tokyo is very quiet which is a bit strange considering its 38 million + population. That would be adding the population of all the Nordic and Baltic countries together and you would still lack approximately 5 million people so let’s add about 75% of the Netherlands and we will be getting fairly close. 
  • The Japanese, especially the women of Tokyo, look fantastic. They dress extremely well with perfect hair and make-up. But my favorite is the men and women that dress in their traditional kimonos. I actually did not expect to see this on the streets but thought it was something they mostly ware for special days and celebrations only.

  • The city is very clean and organised. It’s very easy to walk around and find your way.
  • There is still many people that don’t speak English here. I need to learn some Japanese phrases, as I’ve heard that it will be even harder to find someone in Kyoto that speaks English.
  • The Japanese are just as helpful as the rumor has it. Standing with a map in your hands and you will not necessarily even have to ask for help, they will come and offer it to you.
  • There’s also something about the Japanese people apart from them being very friendly. They are very polite and I would have to say they embody grace and pride. There’s something very beautiful about the way they move and interact with you. I have not experienced anything like it before.
  • The Underground is not as full as you fear, or at least not the ones I’ve taken and that has been midday to be fair. And it’s very easy to use.

  • I’ve only been to a couple of areas yet but it feels like a very safe city. 

—–

Första intryck av Tokyo. Ha i åtanke att jag bara varit här i ett par dagar och besökt ett par olika områden.

  • Tokyo är väldigt tyst stad vilket är lite konstigt med tanke på en befolkningsmängd om 38 miljoner +. Det är som att addera befolkningen i Norden och Baltikum och set skulle fortfarande saknas ca 5 miljoner, så låt oss även addera ca 75% av Hollands befolkning så borde vi vara ganska nära.
  • Japanerna, speciellt kvinnorna ser fantastiska ut. De klär sig otroligt väl med perfekt hår och sminkning.Men min favorit är de män och kvinnor som klär sig i de traditionella kimonos. Jag trodde faktiskt inte att jag skulle se det på gatorna här utan att detta bara var något de använde vid speciella högtider och festligheter.
  • Staden är väldigt ren och organiserad. Det är väldigt enkelt att promenera runt och hitta din väg.
  • Det är fortfarande många som inte pratar Engelska här. Jag måste lära mig några Japanska fraser då jag hört att det kommer vara ännu svårare att hitta någon som pratar engelska i Kyoto.
  • Japanerna är precis så hjälpsamma som ryktet säger. Om du står med en karta i dina händer så kommer du nödvändigtvis inte ens behöva be om hjälp, de kommer att erbjuda dig den.
  • Det är också något speciellt med det japanska folket förutom att de är vänliga.  De är väldigt hövliga och jag skulle säga att de förkroppsligar elegans och stolthet. Det är något väldigt vackert hur de rör sig och hur de interagerar med dig.Jah har nog aldrig upplevt något liknande tidigare. 
  • Tunnelbanan är inte så full som man tror, I varje fall inte de jag har tagit. Det har dock varit mitt på dagen och ej i rusningstrafik. Och den är väldigt enkel att använda.
  • Nu har jag bara rört mig i ett par områden än så länge men det känns som en väldigt säker stad. 
Leave a Reply

