A dream come true

I have dreamt about Japan for many years, topping my bucket list of places to travel. Actually the reason why I decided to do an Asia tour in the first place was because I wanted to go to Japan. And now, I’m here. Surreal when dreams come true, but true.

Now spent my first and second day in Tokyo. When I headed out yesterday I passed by a street food market and had a lovely lunch. An older gentlemen in the line to get food immediately asked me where I was from. Turned out he had worked for Ericsson and had been to Malmö on business.  

Food truck.

After I wandered around Ginza and the palace for a couple of hours. Result: my feet hurt and I have blisters from my shoes. This is basically the first time I’ve worn something else than flip-flops since beginning of March.

A bit colder than Bali. Lite kallare än Bali.

First impression of Tokyo. There’s something in the atmosphere that I just love. It reminds me about the feeling I had the first time I went to New York. Not that they resemble each other that much apart from both being metropolitan cities. I could not put my finger on it then and I can’t now, but I love it. 

I’m just over the moon being here.

——

Jag har drömt om Japan i många år, det har toppat min “Bucket List” över platser att besöka. Det är faktiskt anledningen till att jag överhuvudtaget gör en Asien-tour. Och nu är jag här. Surrealistiskt när drömmar blir verklighet, men sant.

Jag har nu spenderat min första och andra dag i Tokyo. När jag begav mig ut igår så passerade jag en gatumarknad och åt då min lunch där. En äldre herre i kön för att beställa mat började genast prata med mig och undrade varifrån jag var. Det hissade sig att han hade jobbat för Ericsson och hade varit i Malmö i affärer. 

Efter detta vandrade jag runt i Ginza och runt palatset i några timmar. Resultatet: onda fötter och jag har blåsor från mina skor. Detta är i princip görsta gången sen början av mars som jag bär något annat än flip flops. 

Första intrycket av Tokyo.  Det är något i atmosfären som jag bara älskar. Det påminner mig om samma känsla jag fock första gången jag besökte New York. Inte för att de påminner så mycket om varandra förutom att båda är metropoler.Jag kunde inte sätta fingret på det då och kan inte göra det nu heller, men jag älskar det.

Jag är helt enkelt totalt begeistrad över att vara här.

Leave a Reply

