Thunderstorms 

They have the most horrible thunderstorms here. Almost every day and/or night, for a month now, there has been a thunderstorm and it’s not comparable to our thunderstorms at home. You can feel the thunder in your body, the ground vibrates and it spreads through your body. 

Today I went to Senggigi beach just to relax, and was faced with the below:

The calm before the storm. Lugnet före stormen.
I lay down on the beach for maximum 10 minutes and then the first drops fell down. I moved into the restaurant and the sky opened up and the thunderstorm quickly came over us.  Normally you can tell in what direction the store comes from or if it’s directly above you but this sounded like it was surrounding us and moving from one direction to another. I tried to record the thunder but only managed to get one clip which does not capture the storm as all. When the worst one hit I saw the lightning and immediately thereafter deafening thunder. I was so startled by the sound I screamed out loud but the thunder swallowed my scream.

I have always liked thunderstorms, they’re beautiful and powerful. I remember when I was a child and spent time att Rönnskär, our summer house on an island, and how I enjoyed the thunderstorms especially if I was by myself, but the one today was too much for me. 

—–

Det har de värsta åskovädren hör. Nästan varje dag och/eller natt, I en månads tid, så har det varit åskoväder och de går inte att jämföra med våra åskoväder hemma. Du känner åskan kroppen, marken vibrerar och sprider sig i hela kroppen     

Idag åkte jag till stranden bara för att slappa, och möttes då av den första bilden ovan. 

Jag la mig ner på stranden i max 10 minuter och då kände jag den första dropparna. jag gick in på denna närmaste restaurangen och då öppnade sig himlen och åskovädren rörde sig snabbt in över oss. Normalt så kan du höra från vilket håll åskovädret kommer eller om den till är mitt över dig men detta lät som att det omfamnade oss och rörde sig snabbt från en en sida till den andra. Jag försökte spela in åskan men lyckades bara få ett klipp som dessvärre inte återspeglar ovädret. När den värsta åskan slog till så såg jag blixten och strax därpå en öronbedövande smäll. Jag blev så överraskad att jag skrek rakt ut men åskan svalde mitt skrik. 

Jag har alltid gillat åskväder, de är vackra och kraftfulla. Jag kommer ihåg när jag som barn spenderade tid på Rönnskär, vårt sommarställe ute på en ö, hur jag njöt av åskan och speciellt om jag fick vara där själv, men den idag var för mycket för mig. 

Leave a Reply

