Mixed feelings

There is something about this island, Gili T, that I just love and other bits that I have problems with.

I love the chilled atmosphere which allows you to let go and relax. No demands, no real schedules, when checking into my hotel they did not ask for an ID or deposit nor did the diving center. You live among the locals, not at a large resort far away from reality. And it’s all cool.

There are no cars here, which is an odd experience. Almost like you’ve travelled back in time. All they use is horse and carriage. This gives the island a really nice wibe, though I can’t shake that feeling, that I feel very sorry for the horses. They are skinny, so skinny you can see their ribs. They work really long and hard days and they are not taken care of. I have therefore not used the local taxis myself and I’m torn between loving the atmosphere it brings to the island and not being able to accept the way they use the horses.

Local taxis. Lokal taxi.

Another thing that makes me sad is all the garbage and litter all over the island. This really is a paradise island but all the litter takes away from that. I have discussed this several times with the locals and they explained that about a month ago the government with military came and tore all the illegal shops down (located on the beach). They had all been prewarned about this action but no one had done anything. Once the military had torn everything down they left and behind them was all what was left of the buildings and all the litter.

What makes me a bit hopeful though is that after being here for 10 days I actually see an improvement, even though they have lots to do still especially mid-island. I see some people making an effort, picking up and sorting plastic, glass, paper etc. Also, every Friday evening the Gili Eco Trust arranges “Garbage Friday where people volunteer to pick up the garbage and afterwards they are treated to a beer.

Cheers, who ever said alcohol is bad!

—–

Det är något med den här ön, Gili T, som jag bara älskar och andra delar som jag har problem med.    

Jag älskar den avslappnade atmosfären som gör att du kan släppa allt och koppla av. Inga krav, inga riktiga tider att hålla, när jag checkade in på mitt hotell så bad de inte om att få se id eller en depositionsavgift, det gjorde inte heller på dykcentret. Du bor omgiven av lokalbefolkningen, inte på ett stort resort långt borta från verkligheten. Allt är helt enkelt coolt. 

Det finns inga bilar här, vilket är en konstig känsla. Det känns som man rest tillbaka i tiden. Allt de använder är häst och kärra. Detta ger ön en väldigt trevlig karaktär, dock kan  jag inte riktigt skaka av mig den där känslan att jag tycker synd om hästarna. De är smala, så smala att du kan se deras revben. De arbetar långa och hårda dagar och är inte väl omhändertagna. Därför har jag inte använt den lokala taxin och jag slits mellan att älska atmosfären som det skänker ön och samtidigt inte kunna acceptera hur hästarna utnyttjas. 

En annan sak som gör mig ledsen är alla sopor och allt skräp som ligger över hela ön. Detta är verkligen en paradisö men allt skräp förtar det. Jag har diskuterat detta många gånger med lokalbefolkningen som förklarade att för drygt en månad sen så kom regeringen med militären och rev ner alla illegala verksamheter (som fanns på stranden). De hade fått en förvarning om detta men ingen hade gjort något. När militären hade rivit allt, lämnade de ön och det som då fanns kvar var nerrivna byggnader och skräp.

Det som gör mig lite hoppfull är att det faktiskt har blivit bättre under de 10 dagar jag varit här, även om de har mycket att göra speciellt när man kikar runt mitt på ön. Jag ser hur vissa personer gör en ansträngning, plockar upp och sorterar plast, glas, papper etc.  Varje fredag så arrangerar även Gili Eco Trust “Garbage Friday” där frivilliga plockar upp skräp och efteråt blir de bjudna på en öl. 

Skål, vem har sagt att alkohol skulle vara av ondo?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Flo says:

    Hoppas verkligen att “fredagsprojektet” utökas och att skräpet snart helt försvinner! En sorg att se något så vackert, skräpas ner… 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

