Hong Kong – Thoughts // Tankar

Being the minority for ones gives you (me) perspective. 

Walking along the streets of HK you very quickly realise you’re among the minority. Instead of being the norm you realise that you are different, you are the outsider. You do not look like 99% of the people, you get glances, people sneak a picture of you, you can’t understand what’s being said to or about you, you can’t read the menues etc etc. You feel excluded. 

I was recommended a restaurant by the receptionists at the hotel. He asked me what I wanted. I replied: Local cuisine. At lunchtime I passed by the restaurant he recommended but must confess I did not dare to enter but went for the safe choice instead where the menu was in English as well. 

For dinner I decided it was time to overcome my fare. I went to the same restaurant, took the elevator and stopped on every floor (since I could not understand the signs in the elevator) but was faced with the kitchen, the laundry room and an old couple sitting by a table playing some sort of game. I finally came to what looked a bit like a restaurant but it was nearly empty apart from two tables who both turned around and stared at me. I did not enter. 

Instead I finally found a restaurant, after asking around, with loads of locals and where I did not understand a single word of the menu. 

—-

Att för en gångs skull vara en minoritet ger en (mig) perspektiv.

Att vandra längs Hong Kong gator får dig ganska snabbt att inse att du är i minoritet. Istället för att vara normen så inser du att du är annorlunda, en outsider. Du ser inte ut som 99% av befolkningen, du får blickar, folk smygfotograferar dig, du förstår inte vad se säger till eller om dig, du kan inte läsa menyn etc etc. Du känner dig exkluderad.

Jag blev rekommenderad en restaurang av receptionisten på hotellet.  Runt lunchtid passerade jag restaurangen men måste erkänna att jag inte vågade gå in utan valde istället ett säkrare alternativ där menyn även var på engelska.

Till middag bestämde jag att det var dags att besegra mig  rädsla. Jag gick till den restaurang jag blivit rekommenderad och tog hissen upp. Jag stannade på varje våningsplan (eftersom jag inte förstod vad skyltarna betydde) och möttes då av köket, tvättstugan, ett gammalt par om verkar sitta och spela något sorts spel. Slutligen stannade hissen vid vad som såg ut att vara en restaurang bara det att den var nästintill tom med undantag av två bord som båda svängde på sig och stirrade på mig. Jag klev inte in.

Slutligen hittade jag en annan restaurang efter att ha frågat runt lite, med massa lokala och där jag inte förstod ett enda ord på menyn.

A somewhat different entrence. // En något annorlunda entré.

The menu. Thankfully they actually had a smaller menu for tourists with only pictures.

Menyn. Tack och lov hade de en mindre meny för turister med bara bilder.

Crispy duck with greens and shrimps. // Knaprig anka med grönsaker och räka.

Local beer, Tsingtao. // Lokal öl, Tsingtao.

The restaurant. // Restaurangen.

The kitchen. // Köket.

I think everyone, especially the radical and narrow-minded politicians that pop up everywhere nowadays, should be forced to visit countries alone where they for sure will be and feel like the outsider. To realize you’re just the norm in a small part of the world and the outsider everywhere else should be remembered at all the time. Also to be remembered is how easy it actually is to make someone feel included, like the waitor who took a couple of minutes of his time to explain the difference between Mandarin and Kantonese to me. 

To be honest, Hong Kong is easy as you will get by very well with English and almost all signs are written in English. Though it gave me a good understanding of what it must be like when foreigners come to Sweden or Finland and are faced with 99% ‘White Faces’.

Xiėxié in Mandarin and M’gai in Cantonese (and please excuse my Chinese spelling).

—–

Jag tycker att alla, speciellt alla radikala och trångsynta politiker som poppar upp överallt idag, ska bli tvingade att ensam åka till ett land där de är och kommer känna sig som en outsider. Att inse att man bara är normen i en liten del av världen och en outsider i resten, borde man alltid ha i åtanke. Det man även borde ha i åtanke är hur enkelt det faktiskt är att få någon att känna sig inkluderad, så som servitören på restaurangen som tog sig tid att förklara skillnaden mellan Mandarin och Kantonesiska för mig. 

Om jag ska vara ärlig så är det väldigt enkelt att ta sig runt i Hong Kong då de flesta pratar engelska och de flesta skyltar också är på engelska. Dock gav det mig en förståelse för hur det måste kännas för utlänningar att komma till Sverige eller Finland och mötas av 99% vita ansikten.

Xiėxié på Mandarin och M’gai på Kantonesiska (ni får ursäkta min kinesiska stavning).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Astrid says:

    Bra och viktig reflektion!
    Heja dig som vågar testa och leta rätt på det genuina! Det ser smaskens ut! 👍🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

