On a budget and fighting impulses

Arriving at Hong Kong airport at 7.15 am after a 10 hour flight where you’re supposed to sleep but your body is on CET, all I wanted to do was to jump in a taxi, get to the hotel as quickly as possible, go to the room, have a shower and get a couple of hours of sleep. But remembering that I am on a budget I took the fast train to Hong Kong Central and the MTR to Sheung Wan and walked a couple of 100 meters to my hotel. 

Arriving at he hotel around 9ish I was informed that check-in is at 2pm but that they had a room available for an additional 300 HKD a night. My first impulse was to go for the upgrade but then remembered that I’m on a budget now. If I start upgrading on my first day, I will continue to do so.

My only option was to leave my bags and hit town, walking around without a shower in the same cloaths that I travelled in. I ended up in a café for some free WiFi and a bowl of Dim Sum for breakfast/lunch and then returned to the hotel and finally got my room.

—–

Jag anlände Hong Kong flygplats kl 7.15 efter en 10 timmars flygning där tanken var att jag skulle sova men kroppen fortfarande är inställd på Svensk tid. Det enda jag ville göra var att hoppa i en taxi, åka till hotellet, få mitt rum, duscha och ta en tupplur i ett par timmar. Men insåg att jag nu reser på en budget och tog istället snabbtåget till Hong Kong Central och därefter tunnelbanan till Sheung Wan, och traskade några 100 meter till hotellet.

När jag anlände vid hotellet meddelade de att check-in var först kl 14.00 men att de kunde erbjuda mig en uppgradering för 300 HKD per natt. Min första impuls var att uppgradera men kom då ihåg att jag har en budget att ta i beaktande. Om jag börjar uppgradera dag 1 så kommer jag fortsätta göra det framöver också.

Mitt enda val var att lämna bagaget och bege mig ut på upptäcktsfärd. Jag landade till slut på ett kafé med gratis wifi och en skål Dim Sum till frukost/lunch innan jag slutligen kunde checka in och få mitt rum.

Leave a Reply

