Clean Desk Policy

For the first time in 13 years I can finally say I practice a Clean Desk Policy. Not a single paper on my desk nor an email in my inbox. Better late than never.

I worked my last day at a place where I’ve spent most of my waken hours for a decade, and more. I had to say goodbye to all of my fantastic colleagues that I’ve seen almost every day from the age of 26, that I’ve had lunch with, laughed and partied with (and boy have we partied) and gone through both happy and sad times with. Life has happened around us and I see them as more than just colleagues, they are an alternative family and they are one of the reason why I am where I am today and why I am the person I am.

Cleaning my desk today and walking out that door, actions I’ve done a thousand times before though I must confess my desk had never ever been that clean, has a greater meaning and a meaning I think I can’t really comprehend yet. I know I’m going to Asia for just three months and I will for sure see my colleagues in June upon my return, but there is a difference and the feeling is a mixture between excitement and melancholia.

To my dear colleagues, if you read this, you will be missed greatly.

Hugs💗

———

För första gången på tretton år kan jag säga att jag praktiserar vår “Clean Desk Policy”. Det finns varken ett papper på bordet eller ett Mail i inkorgen. Bättre sent än aldrig.

Idag arbetade jag min sista dag på en arbetsplats där jag spenderat mer tid än det senaste årtiondet. Jag var tvungen att säga hejdå till mina fantastiska kollegor som jag sett nästan varje dag sen jag var 26 år, som jag ätit lunch med, skrattat och festat med (och oj så vi har festat), som jag delat glädje och sorg med. Livet har hänt runt omkring oss och jag ser på dom som mer än kollegor, de är en alternativ familj och en av anledningarna att jag är där jag är och att jag är den person jag är idag.

Att städa bordet och gå ut genom den där dörren, saker jag gjort tusen gånger innan om än jag måste erkänna att mitt skrivbord aldrig någonsin sett så rent ut tidigare, har en större betydelse nu och en betydelse som jag ännu inte kan förstå. Jag vet att jag kommer bara vara i Asien i tre månader och att jag kommer träffa mina kollegor igen när jag återvänder i juni, men  det är en annan känsla, en känsla mellan upprymdhet och vemod.

Till mina kära kollegor, om ni läser detta, jag kommer sakna er massor.

Kram💗

Leave a Reply

